Why Can’t Black People Let Other Black People Enjoy Finer Things?

(Courtesy of a comment left on MediaTakeOut.com yesterday)

If you grew up in “the hood” like me, you’d know how hard it is to enjoy finer things with your hard-earned money without worrying about jealous-ass black people stealing (or trying to steal) your sh*t.

And the sad thing is, the jealous-ass black people don’t even have to be strangers–they could be friends (or in some extreme cases) family members. I no longer live in the hood for these very reasons. I couldn’t take not being able to enjoy what my money bought me; so I moved out and found a better job and living in a predominantly white neighborhood, I can enjoy what my money buy. It’s very sad. And very true.

But black people, they clown you if you don’t have it and rob you if you do.

I’ve said it before…

…You just can’t win with black people.

    • Lucas Smith
    • March 24th, 2010

    you can run but you can’t hide. I hope you enjoy living with “THEM”.

    • chariel
    • March 25th, 2010

    I understand what you are trying to say but I don’t agree with the way you said it. It sounds very condescending

    • Mz Jazzie e
    • March 25th, 2010

    WOW Jamel!! I don’t know what to think about this one…
    Speak ya mind boy.

    • MelG
    • March 25th, 2010

    @ chariel

    I understand what you mean but the way he said it, didn’t he catch your attention with it? I don’t mean to sound ignorant but I think it’s brilliant…

    For the most part, I agree with this post. I find myself concealing my things (i.e. iPod, cellphone) when I’m in the hood.

    • miko
    • March 25th, 2010

    he ain’t lyin! i live in the hood and i hate it! it’s like they always plottin on you to get what u got instead of workin to get it themselves. i guess the majority of blacks just aren’t use to having much *kanye shrug*

    • Jhandi
    • March 26th, 2010

    I grew up in the South Bronx. After graduating from college and landing a decent job, I rented an apartment in my childhood community. Only to have my apartment robbed, the registration stickers stolen off of my tags and people that knew me all of my life telling me that I was not shit for getting a higher education.

    OLD PROVERB: Black folk are like crabs in barrell. If one comes close to escaping, the others will pull it back in.

  1. I mean im just going to keep it real on here, and I dont want anybody to take this as disrespect. This is nothing but self-hate. You talking about your race as if you are ashamed to be black. Believe it or not, I know black people who has been robbed in a predominantly white community by white people. It seems like you dont like being black. The writings are on the wall. You dont date black women, you live in a all white neighborhood, and you constantly complain about black people. You harass black celebrities, you talk trash about black celebrities. i have never seen or read anything you have written about a white celebrity or any other race for that matter. I think you need reevaluate yourself. You look in the mirror, and for once accept who you are. No matter how many white women you date, no matter how many white people you surround yourself with, you are still black man. You need to accept it.

      • TMI
      • October 22nd, 2010

      You are a dumbass black race hustler. So, so sick of the collective victimologists trying to speak for everyone. Blacks are smart to mesh with whites. I love my white community, everyone says hello, clean polite little children riding bikes, moms with strollers, dad’s walking dogs, safe streets. You need to get real with yourself!!

      Why not try to show a little individuality instead of subscribing to the most oppressive train of thought???? Blacks need to liberate themselves from the “black first” mentality and learn to assimilate into the dominant culture.

        • djata
        • January 20th, 2011

        its designed for it to seem like that. Because drugs are kept out of there neighborhoods while ours are constantly flooded with it. drugs are not manufactured here and most people in the hood hardly leave so where are they getting it from. Any way you look like a fool running to a white mans community. what you are saying is that you are not man enough to create a prosperous environment with your people and that you are going to leach off mr white. And nobody likes a leach so even though u may feel safe ur really not.

    • djata
    • January 20th, 2011

    you should read brainwashed by Tom Burrell. I find it hard to believe that all black people are out to get you. Because you want the “finer thing”. what are the “finer things” exactly? because you could be rich and nobody has to know. i mean if you want to wear a diamond encrusted chain and drive a ferari around some people that are unemployed with no money. then your going to be looking like steak and thats on both sides of the color line.

  2. you don’t have it and rob you if you do.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

