The “Angry Black Woman”

I’m pretty sure we’ve all heard the phrase “angry black woman”. For a long time I’ve wondered why such a term exist. I mean, I’ve seen just as many angry white, Latin and Mexican women as I’ve seen black women.

Okay, that’s a lie.

I haven’t seen many angry white, Latin and Mexican women simply because either I’m not around them long enough or the anger that the black woman spawn hath no equal.

I promise, I’m not here to offend anybody, so if you get offended easily, I suggest you stop reading here.

You’re a bold one huh? Well let’s continue on shall we?

I remember hearing in the street a while back about the angry black woman. This group of BLACK men said that the black woman is angry because she have a lot to be angry about.

They went on to say that when compared to any other race of women, there is no comparison. Black women try to keep up with those races with fake hair, nails, eyes, etc. and still can’t keep up. Which causes them to become angry with themselves. They live with the anger of envy and insecurity and it’s not hard to bring it out of them. I can’t remember everything that was said but one thing I do remember is when they said that black women are not “relationship material”, that’s when the whole scene got a bit messy.

The group of men that spoke these words were cussed out and even threatened, yet,  some people standing around listening (including myself) couldn’t stop. I guess mainly in disbelief at how bold they were to speak those words in public.

I know plenty of black women who don’t fit the “angry black woman” stereotype…

…and at the same time…

…I know and seen some that do…

But the phrase “angry black women” seems unfair to our sisters. Just another example of “judge one and judge all”…

What do you guys think about all of this?

    • Miss_Cheekz
    • March 17th, 2010

    I have to say that I Like ur site & u really make ppl debate abt things but as of recently why are all ur posts centered abt race (mainly black)?? It’s alot more going on in the world!! Like I said ur a good writer & all bt as of lately u make it seems as if Black ppl/race/gender r ur only topic of discussion! & in no way am I trying to offend u if ur reading this!

    • Sonya
    • March 17th, 2010

    where im from black women are angry because they dont use common sense . they fall for men who use them , get pregnant and then want a good man/family. well if he didnt marry you why are you pregnant? then they find out they were stupid and still dont have man , job ,or education – just a baby. they dont realize men will get them pregnant and treat them and their kids like trash and then go and find a real woman with some sense to make their wife . thats what they hate.they dont respect themselves and then wonder why the world doesnt either. I AM A BLACK WOMAN WHO IS AROUND THIS ISH ALL DAY. WITH A JOB AND IN COLLEGE.

    • Jhandi
    • March 18th, 2010

    Black women are angry.

    I think that Black men are just as angry.

    Black women self-hate.

    Black men self-destruct.

    What descendants of slaves have most in common is the generational struggle for justice and equality. Beyond this After there is no constant common demominator among black people for cultural pride and heritage. The culture lacks a solid foundation of consistent identity which challenges a persons sense of self-worth, transcending into anger.

    In the words of Willie Lynch in 1712, there are many ways in which you can keep control of your “slaves”. His wisdom of 300 years has not changed.

    It’s time to wake up Black America!

    GENTLEMAN:

    I greet you here on the bank of the James River in the year of our Lord, one thousand seven hundred and twelve. First I shall thank you, the Gentlemen of the Colony of Virginia, for bringing me here. I am here to help you solve some of your problems with slaves. Your invitation reached me on my modest plantation in the West Indies where I have experimented with some of the newest and still the oldest methods for control of slaves. Ancient Rome would envy us if my program is implemented. As our boat sailed south on the James River, named for our illustrious King James, whose bible we cherish, I saw enough to know that your program is not unique. While Rome used cords of wood as crosses for standing human bodies along the old highways in great numbers, you are here using the tree and the rope on occasion.

    I caught the whiff of a dead slave hanging from a tree a couple of miles back. You are not only losing valuable stock by hangings, you are having uprisings, slaves are running away, your crops are sometimes left in the fields too long for maximum profit, you suffer occasional fires, your animals are killed, gentlemen…you know what your problems are; I do not need to elaborate. I am not here to enumerate your problems, I am here to introduce you to a method of solving them.

    In my bag here, I have a fool-proof method for controlling your black slaves. I guarantee everyone of you that if installed correctly it will control the slaves for at least 300 years. My method is simple, any member of your family or any overseer can use it.

    I have outlined a number of differences among the slaves, and I take these differences and make them bigger. I use fear, distrust, and envy for control purposes. These methods have worked on my modest plantation in the West Indies, and it will work throughout the South. Take this simple little test of differences and think about them. On the top of my list is “Age”, but it is there because it only starts with an “A”; the second is “Color” or shade; there is intelligence, size, sex, size of plantations, attitude of owners, whether the slaves live in the valley, on a hill, East, West, North, South, have fine or coarse hair, or is tall or short. Now that you have a list of differences, I shall give you an outline of action–but before that, I shall assure you that distrust is stronger than trust, and envy is stronger than adulation, respect, or admiration.

    The Black Slave, after receiving this indoctrination, shall carry on and will become self refueling and self generating for hundreds of years, maybe thousands.

    Don’t forget, you must pitch the old Black vs. the young Black male, and the young Black male against the old Black male. You must use the dark skinned slaves vs the light skinned slaves, and the light skinned slaves vs. the dark skinned slaves. You must use the female vs. the male, and the male vs. the female. You must also have your servants and overseers distrust all Blacks, but it is necessary that your slaves trust and depend on us. They must love, respect, and trust only us.

    Gentlemen, these kits are your keys to control, use them. Have your wives and children use them. Never miss opportunity. My plan is guaranteed, and the good thing about this plan is that if used intensely for one year, the slaves themselves will remain perpetually distrustful.

    • Jhandi
    • March 18th, 2010

    And in direct response to Ms_Cheekz, the topics that are posted on this forum are outstanding and relative to “all” people. I am black, I love black people and I embrace the opportunity to exchange thought about black people.
    And not to be rude…but if you are not interested in the topic, then keep it moving and stay tuned.

      • Miss_Cheekz
      • March 18th, 2010

      Never did I say his topics weren’t interesting! i APPLAUD him on being a great writer Bt I said it seems like they’re all focusing on one issue all the time! I don’t know what race u think I am bt just to let u know I’m black too and I have my own opinions abt things and if I wasn’t talking to u then please don’t respond to me bc u make urself seem like a “suck-up” dear! Hope ur daY IS GOING WELL!

        • doom
        • April 28th, 2010

        there are many web-blog-whatever these days, pick one that writes about what U want to read. let the writers do them… black white wtf ever doesnt matter, stop complaining so damn much

    • Balck Admiral
    • March 18th, 2010

    All of us are mad…but we’re misdericting the anger towards innocent sources…be mad at the dude shooting up your block, not the chick who looks better than you…If your man cheats on you, leave him, don’t attck the chick he’s cheating with..she doesn’t know you..Also it doesn’t hurt to smile every so often….

    • Misskayk
    • March 19th, 2010

    I feel we are not the only ones angry. I know many hispanic women who are crazier than us black women. And we also are not gonna put up with anything a man does black or whatver. Yea sometimes we fall for the losers and it may ruin our perception on men temporarily, but there still are good men who exist that will love us despite the kids we have and situation we are in. And yeah sometimes we’re not smiling but you never know what we are goin through sometimes we have alot goin on but dont judge us based on that. We do whatver we can to provide regardless if there’s a man or not. Black women will forever hold it down.

      • doom
      • April 28th, 2010

      everyone has a story/problems… stop wearing urs on ur sleeve. let the bullshit go and actively attempt to find inner peace i bet ull find the “right one” once you do

    • Reddy
    • March 19th, 2010

    Damn..seems like we can’t help but get angry. Even when we are just expressing our opinions^^^^^^^^^^^^^^. It’s true that I do see alot of angry balck women…most of the time they are angry about nothing. Some women just seem to think this is the attitude thay should have. Thier mothers had it and now they do….it’s really sad. I’m a young black women and I put on a smile everyday…..not for anyone else but for me!!!

    • Sonya
    • March 19th, 2010

    why do black women think just because they have kids by a man and he leaves and they take care of the kids by themselves they are strong ? YOU HAVE TO TAKE CARE OF THEM BECAUSE HE DIDNT WANT YOU OR RESPECT YOU AS A WOMAN. how about being strong enough to say PUT A RING ON IT AND SHOW SOME RESPECT.these women teach their daughters its ok to let a man treat you that way…so sad – they still dont see that part.
    (BLACK LOVE IS BEAUTIFUL)

    • Misskayk
    • March 19th, 2010

    To me it really dont matter if a man leave so what, move the fuck on with your life. And if he wanna leave thats his loss. ALL FEMALES DO NOT NEED DUDES AROUND DNT MATTER IF HE LEFT OR NOT SO UNLESS YOU HAVE KIDS YOU CANT SPEAK FOR SINGLE MOMS!!!

    • Jhandi
    • March 20th, 2010

    To: Jamel T Wilkins

    In repsonse to a recent commentary posted on the forum relative to the selection of topics; please continue your writing style and selection of topics with the same sense of cadence.

    Thank you for your attention and consideration.

    After reveiwing the responses, an additional thought on the topic of black women’s anger. The word “strong” in describing black women is often misused. Black women are more “aggressive” than “strong”. And “aggression” often manifests itself through “anger”. Something to think about…

    • kmteet
    • March 22nd, 2010

    Ohhhh Kay!!! I like the topic, not too hot on the responses though and heres why…

    I am an African descendent, therefore a Black woman – if you like that title. We use African or West Indian as it seems more appropriate than a colour. I like African American better than Black…

    How is it possible to label a whole race (actually, much more than a race as Black emcompasses African descendents ALL OVER THE WORLD) – well, half of that nation of peoples, the women, angry?!!! Angry about what may I ask?

    I get the Willie Lynch theory and history and all that. Being from the West Indies I am a direct descendent of slavery as most African Americans are so I get it. However, I wasn’t raised to beleive in all that crap. I think a lot of people nowadays have moved on and are educated enough to know better than to hold onto old fashioned imperialist propoganda. I was not born on a plantation, my Great Grandparents were.

    And what does being a single parent have to do with anything??!!! How does that link to this debate, really? What about income, social status, employment, the realisation of dreams? Don’t these things effect a persons happiness? Not all Black women are single mothers…I’m not!!! And I know a good lot more that aren’t either. In fact they’re doing good in life. African descendents, here in England.

    I just think the arguements around these subjects are regurgitated and lack new thought and perspectives. It’s preposterous to me to suggest all or most Black women are angry. It’s a madness. Makes no sense and is simply a stereotype, whoever says it, black or white.

    I’m not trying to offend anyone – I appreciate your views and hope you can appreciate mine.

      • doom
      • April 28th, 2010

      ur taking it out of context, they are talking about american black women. the islands have a culture all their own, much more family based than f.cked up america so your opinion would be biased. still u made a good point tho

    • Anonymous
    • March 29th, 2010

    WHITE WOMAN WEAR FAKE HAIR(IF YOU DON’T KNOW,JESSICA SIMPSON HAS HER OWN LINE OF HAIR EXTENTIONS) IN CASE YOU DIDN’T KNOW,JESSICA SIMPSON IS A……WHITE WOMAN!!!! WHITE WOMAN WEAR FAKE NAILS TOO. (EVER SEEN THE COMMERCIALS ON TELEVISION FOR THEM)……WHITE WOMAN -ACTING. WHITE WOMAN CHANGE THEIR EYE COLOR ALSO(CONTACT LENSE COMMERCIALS FOR BAURSCH & LOMBS)WHITE WOMAN PORTRAYL. IF YOUR GOING TO STATE SOMETHING, MAKE SURE YOU HAVE YOUR FACTS STRAIGHT CAUSE, YES,YOU CAN OFFEND SOMEONE IN THE WRONG WAY EVENTHOUGH YOU PUT UP A “WARNING” NOT TOO TO “SENSITIVE” PEOPLE.WOMAN HAVE BEEN WEARING WIGS FOR AGES NOT ONLY BLACK WOMAN LOOK AT OLD MOVIES(TCM) JUST OLD MOVIES 1950’S ,NAIL COMMERCIALS BEFORE YOUR TIME. I THINK THE ISSUE IS JUST BEING…………..A WOMAN!!!!!!! NOT ABOUT RACE!!! INVESTIGATE B 4 U DEGRATE!!!!!!

      • doom
      • April 28th, 2010

      very tru, the problem is with the entire gender but the issue here is how american BLACK woman manifest this problem. white women are taught a totally different set of values then black women are, therefore their perspective would be wholly different

    • DG
    • April 10th, 2011

    I know plenty of black women who don’t fit the “angry black woman” stereotype…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

