“Are You Really Black And Proud”?

I’m going to share with you a somewhat personal story that happened last year with you guys…

I had a friend of a different race. I feel it irrelevant to name the race, so I won’t. But one day, my friends and I were hanging out one Sunday afternoon. Later in the day, one of them asked:

“Are you really proud to be black?”

I wish I could describe to you guys the mixed emotions that I felt upon hearing those words without it looking something like this:

“wyhevbfckrpohkrjbgd”

…But I can’t. I didn’t know how to feel about that question…or our “friendship”…

The events that followed are irrelevant to the topic but I will tell you this: After he asked that, I realized that it was impossible for me to be more proud to be black.

But the greater question that came to my head was…

Why does the phrase “black and proud” even exist?

Of course I’m black and proud…but I don’t need a shirt to display it. I don’t need a song to get that across. I shouldn’t have to “say it loud”…

…because I don’t have to prove that I’m proud to anybody!

What are we really saying with the phrase, “I’m black and I’m proud”?

…Think about it.

    • Miss_Cheekz
    • March 5th, 2010

    All in all I’ll have to say I like the phrase! I mean when ur friends asked u that question I’m sure u was like wtf & very proud to be black (& if u didn’t do tht well then I wld have lol) Bt I think I’d rather be black than any other color…..America kind of sleep on black ppl mainly bc we give ourselve’s bad names frm the black on black killing to numerous of other things (Which other races do too, I be watching Snapped lol) Bt we all shld be proud & express it in anyway u feel comfortable in my opinion! I mean bc not being proud isn’t gnna change ur color anyway if anything it’ll make u look stupid!

    • MelG
    • March 5th, 2010

    I haven’t commented on your site in a while and it seems i’ve been missing out, your writing style captures me!

    i feel what the commenter above me is saying and i also feel what jamel is saying. it’s almost like we’re saying “im black and i’m proud” just to feel proud. think about it, how come the phrase, “im mexican and im proud” doesnt exist?

    • Mz Jazzie e
    • March 5th, 2010

    maybe i shouldn’t mention that i’m mixed for this post…oops!
    i’m black and I’m VERY proud of it. and i’m proud of my other half to. but i get what jamal is saying, i don’t have to say it loud because i show it in my character.
    good post.

    • Chariel
    • March 5th, 2010

    I think the phrase came about because blacks had a negative stigma associated with the culture. In addition slavery held and still is such a malicious past that some blacks feel it necessary to dissociate themselves with that past and by doing so they disown their race, not intentionally. I think the harlem renaissance brought about that phrase in order to let the world know, and mostly ourselves, that black people are proud of their race and not ashamed

    • Miss_Cheekz
    • March 5th, 2010

    Didn’t the phrase really gain attention though when MLK was killed & didn’t James Brown sing it?? Ur right if ur proud u don’t have to boast or anything bt I mean if u do it still doesn’t mean that ur faking or anything….& we don’t speak the Mexican language I mean they cld have a saying of their own that we don’t know abt I’m sure every race does!

    • The Admiral
    • March 5th, 2010

    Thats our problem we let them make us feel inferior so we have to use slogans and Black History Month…You Know Damn Well black history is every day…When is white history month ? It all year round….Right about now we don’t stand for anything but fall for everything…Ask Tiger Woods or Zoe Saldana if they’re black and proud…..I’d rather be black and repected..I’m proud of myself…

    • TMarie
    • March 5th, 2010

    I love the way you handel yourself i really do, thought it all. I think your friend asked you that (and it is important what race this perosn is) becasue look at how we as a people represent ourselves. I can say that I am proud to be an African American woman even though I am ashame of how our beautiful black women represent themselve, allow thenselves to be disrespected, used and abused. I am currently atttempting to organize and non-profit organization that is truly deticated to the Black Woman and her betterment if that is a word. I will continue to visti your blog site and youstay the way you are I hope to encounter many more of you in the future

    • Jhandi
    • March 6th, 2010

    I am black and proud among black people. But I do not think it means a thing to anyone who is not black…they could give a damn.

    • Natalie
    • March 8th, 2010

    because black ppl are not emancipated from mental slavery.they always think ppl look down at them thats why we have th oh-so-infamous “you accuse me because i’m black”
    black ppl have a big complex !

    i hope u understood what i tried to say i’m french

      • The Admiral
      • March 8th, 2010

      you are 100% correct on this…

    • Nikki
    • March 8th, 2010

    This phrase comes from a song in the 60’s by James Brown. It was during a time that blacks were treated second class in EVERY aspect of life. This was during a turning point when up to that point, we were made to feel less than or unworthy and undeserving of the same inalienable rights as all other Americans based on the fact that we were BLACK, and that fact only. The conditions of that time period caused a lot of people to hold there head in shame, this song was about pride and not feeling bad because of your color people!!!! It was a different time…that was when black people REALLY did have it hard. I WILL NOT EVEN GO THERE ON HOW THE WORK AND SACRAFICES MADE DURING THAT TIME PERIOD FOR THE MOST PART ARE BEING PISSED ON TODAY….WE ARE THE ONLY RACE I SEE THAT HAS GONE BACKWARDS……..SMDH…..I see where you are coming from, because maybe the song doesn’t fit into today’s context as it did 40 or so years ago, but when you go to question something, first really make sure you thoroughly understand its origin!!! THATS ALL FOLKS…FEEL FREE TO COMMENT OR DISCUSS..PEACE

    • mizzniknak
    • March 18th, 2010

    This is deep, so take your time.
    Why Did You Make Me Black Lord …
    Lord .. Why did you make me black?
    Why did you make someone
    the world would hold back?
    Black is the color of dirty clothes,
    of grimy hands and feet…
    Black is the color of darkness,
    of tired beaten streets…
    Why did you give me thick lips,
    a broad nose and kinky hair?
    Why did you create someone
    who receives the hated stare?
    Black is the color of the bruised eye
    when someone gets hurt…
    Black is the color of darkness,
    black is the color of dirt.
    Why is my bone structure so thick,
    my hips and cheeks so high?
    Why are my eyes brown,
    and not the color of the sky?
    Why do people think I`m useless?
    How come I feel so used?
    Why do people see my skin
    and think I should be abused?
    Lord, I just don`t understand…
    What is it about my skin?
    Why is it some people want to hate me
    and not know the person within?
    Black is what people are “Labeled”
    when others want to keep them away…
    Black is the color of shadows cast…
    Black is the end of the day.
    Lord you know my own people mistreat me,
    and you know this just ain`t right…
    They don`t like my hair, they don`t like my
    skin, as they say I`m too dark or too light!
    Lord, don`t you think
    it`s time to make a change?
    Why don`t you redo creation
    and make everyone the same?
    God`s Reply:
    Why did I make you black? Why did I make you black?
    I made you in the color of coal
    from which beautiful diamonds are formed…
    I made you in the color of oil,
    the black gold which keeps people warm.
    Your color is the same as the rich dark soil
    that grows the food you need…
    Your color is the same as the black stallion and
    panther, Oh what majestic creatures indeed!
    All colors of the heavenly rainbow
    can be found throughout every nation…
    When all these colors are blended,
    you become my greatest creation!
    Your hair is the texture of lamb`s wool,
    such a beautiful creature is he…
    I am the shepherd who watches them,
    I will ALWAYS watch over thee!
    You are the color of the midnight sky,
    I put star glitter in your eyes…
    There`s a beautiful smile hidden behind your pain…
    That`s why your cheeks are so high!
    You are the color of dark clouds
    from the hurricanes I create in September…
    I made your lips so full and thick,
    so when you kiss…they will remember!
    Your stature is strong,
    your bone structure thick to withstand the
    burden of time…
    The reflection you see in the mirror,
    that image that looks back, that is MINE!
    So get off your knees,
    look in the mirror and tell me what you see?
    I didn`t make you in the image of darkness…
    I made you in the image of ME!

    So I feel more blessed to be black than proud…….

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

