The “Precious” Effect

Ever since Gabbie Sidibe’s lead role in the movie Precious, I’ve noticed an increase in big girl confidence. I see it in the streets, in the media, oh and you swear Beyonce was looking back at them when the posed in the mirror before uploading it to the World Wide Web for all to see. Now there’s nothing wrong in having confidence and feeling good about yourself–in fact, I ain’t mad at you! I just think you should have consideration to the people who’s going to see all that confidence…

‘Cause that’s a WHOLE LOT OF CONFIDENCE YOU’RE DISPLAYING!

What do you guys think? I mean, isn’t it a good thing that they’ve found the confidence they’ve once lacked…even if it is a bit much on the eyes…

    • …dadragon
    • February 27th, 2010

    so just because a chick A is 110lbs, she can look a hot mess to us, be pretty in her own eyes and that is acceptable but chick B is 250lbs have on the same outfit as A (in her size of course) still look a mess to us but pretty to herself is doing too much? if the chick B is wrong, so is chick A! lookin a mess is across the board no matter how u feel or how big or small u r!

    • Mz Jazzie e
    • February 27th, 2010

    It’s even worse when she calls herself a “barbie”. YUCK!

    • MelG
    • February 27th, 2010

    I totally understand what the first commenter is saying. i see skinny girls all the time in pictures thinkin they cute when they look a hot azz mess! yes, skinny girls can look a hot azz mess just like big girls can be michael jackson bad.
    …okay maybe not michael jackson bad…

    • Jhandi
    • February 28th, 2010

    Yes, big girl confidence is up.

    But I don’t think it is about the women’s self-confidence as much as it is the men.

    When will men get up the self- confidence to be seen with a “Precious” on his arm?

    • ojjey
    • February 28th, 2010

    she is gettin it and finally the bigger ppl are gettin more self-esteem….

    btw…maybe resize the pic cuz it makes her too wide….(another confidence breaker??)

  1. I dunno how you could say a big woman should watch the level of confidence she’s portraying. You make it sound like we’re out on the street with belly shirts on and hot pants. In a world where people want to take pictures of us, run to their blogs and their websites to make fun of us, I don’t see the issue. It was happening before Gabby, by the way. Just saying.

    Maybe what you’re trying to say is that it should be in moderation? Make sure you tell that to every single person, then. Healthy girls too. I mean the ones who are so “confident” where they’re piling on weave and makeup and it’s socially acceptable. But all of a sudden if we call ourselves a Barbie (which no woman big or small should do. Why would I want to be calling myself after something fake, lacking true feminine proportion, and all about outfits and makeup?) it’s a wild, unheard of thing, right?

    No matter what size a person is, they are entitled to having some form of confidence. Even if society may not agree with it. (Including my example above.) It would be a very boring world if everything was agreeable all the time. So yes baby, it IS a whole lot of confidence we are displaying. And it’s mine, hers, and any big woman’s out in the world right now. And no nay-sayer (since ppl refuse to call it hating) can take it away with their opinions. At the end of the day, it’s just words and some internal lack of confidence on their part.

    And when we look in the mirror, we don’t see Beyonce. Sorry. I love my astrological sista to death, but I see myself. I see myself, love myself, and go out the door with my head held high. And yes, I get stared at, laughed at, and talked about. I brush it off my shoulders and move along with my day. It’s not my issue that you can’t stand to look at me. Don’t look, then. Don’t need your approval. =)

    • The Admiral
    • March 1st, 2010

    I love my big sisters…but come on You Know Damn Well yall wouldn’t be taking Precious to the Oscars…I know some ruthless cats, and they said they’smash for the money…but no public appearances..

    • Miss_Cheekz
    • March 1st, 2010

    Skin is Skin….whether it’s too much or too little or just right!! If a big girl has to cover herself up then a smaller woman shld too!! U don’t have to be a size 4 to feel beautiful abt urself! In both aspects a woman shld be respectable of herself anyway!!

  2. I don’t believe anyone should ever suppress their confidence. I love seeing big, small, medium, dark, light (basically, any … lol) female exude confidence in manners they see fit or want to. Hell, I wish I was as confident as some of these big girls – in my heavier days. Self-worth trumps all external opinions. And remember – beauty is subjective, somebody likes it 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

