A Closer Look At The “Side Chick”

I’ve been getting a lot of e-mail about my “Side Chick” post from females who choose to live the lifestyle–guess there’s more than meets the eye about theses women. First, I’d like to thank the commenters and e-mailers for the insight into the lifestyle. One of the reasons I love blogging is getting insight from my readers. That’s why I provide you guys with my email if ever you want to hit me up. Though, I’d really appreciate the comment…

What I wonder is, where does the transition begin? When do you decide “I want to leech off the next guy”. Is it when life gets too hard? That’s just called giving up. At the same time, this is a “survival of the fittest” kind of world, isn’t it? If she’s doing what she gotta do to get by, can you blame her?

But at the same time…

Shouldn’t seeing somebody doing good for themselves inspire you to be independent? No matter how much you use an unknowing guy and laughing behind his back, you will never be better than him because, well, he’s taking care of yo azz while holdin’ his own. Right or wrong? What do you have that he doesn’t have? Nothing, because everything you own was once in his possession…

I’ve also been told that the lifestyle can be a mutual agreement. He spends all his money on her and gets…sex? That’s all? I guess…seems like she’s getting more out of it than he is (which, I guess, is another reason why you can’t blame her). Is it really that serious though? I don’t understand why he won’t just get himself a girl and get more than sex in return. But that’s just what I think on the whole thing.

I’m here to judge not…

…Not today anyway, since my commenters and emailers left me with some great insight into the lifestyle.

But seriously, what do you guys think?

    • Mz Jazzie e
    • February 17th, 2010

    Im not here to judge all i know is that it couldnt be me. being used for sex just for materialistic things is below trashy. and not only that, ain’t nothing like having a man that actually CARE about you

    • MelG
    • February 17th, 2010

    I think its a stupid lifestyle for both side. your hoing yourself for stuff thats not worth you and hes spending money on a ho thats not worth it

  1. This is a fundamental waste of time.This shows desperation and ignorance. You will deal with anything. Why would you want to? There comes a point and time when you make a decision about how you are going to live your life. Because being a side chick is dicey at best and you open yourself for other bullsh*t at worse like, STD’s, unwanted and unplanned pregancies, missing out on meeting your real boo., etc…. It is tough out here, that’s no doubt, but life is about choices. I feel peace and quiet with dignity is the best way. Drama gets old. Men don’t think like women. They compartmetalize EVERYTHING. Overall, this is not a good look. Go to work and pay your own damn bills!!!!

    • TMarie
    • February 18th, 2010

    I think that a woman should not a shame of holding her own, that is why many women fought for Independence. Yeah its cool when someone buys you things but at the end of the night you are still alone and he goes home to the woman that he respect. My mother always told me to either have my own or as much as he does, and when he get bored he moves on, and yourselt to have to still find the next man to handle that for you so why not just go and do it for self and not have to deal with the disespectful ish

  2. A side chick is usually 100% independent woman who understands that marrying a HANDSOME, financially stable, romantic FAITHFUL man is like winning the lottery.

    Side chicks usually don’t have the strength to handle the cheating and not being appreciated. I can appreciate the ones who can handle it.

    I love men, but I refuse to lay next to an unfaithful, unappreciative, mediocre looking man every night. I’d rather hold out for my

    • Anonymous
    • February 18th, 2010

    ….Prince charming… 😉

    • miko
    • February 23rd, 2010

    ummmm…i’m not seeing the big deal in being the side chick. the man wants what he wants, and the woman is getting what she wants. if that’s what they prefer, do you! it’s not something i could do, only because i need attention all the time lol, and i don’t think side chicks get that, but if that’s how u wanna live, more power to you!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

